Namaste That!


NAMASTE THAT: By Kellie Kennedy-One Baby Boomers View On Life.

Namaste That!  What do I mean? 

The literal translation of  Namaste or “Namastay” means “I bow to you.” It can also be used as a greeting “good day” or “to be well.” A way of greeting used by many Hindu, Taoist and Buddhist as a form of reverence to those they greet. Namaste is a non-contact form of respectful greeting and used universally while meeting a person of different gender, age or social status.

As a Yoga student, I found the use of the word “Namaste” completely healing. I look forward to the time in yoga, when we greet the teacher and other students with a heart-felt “Namaste” before and after yoga practice. I wish it was a word used more often here in the United States, as freely as we use the words  “Thank you.” As much as I adore my English language, in my opinion there is something  so magical about hearing and saying the word “Namaste” to another human being. The word is always said to another with such a softness in one’s voice; almost in whisper.

What could be better, than to visit your local coffee-house and hear the Barista say, “Namaste” as he/she pleasantly slides your Venti-Decaf-Soy-Latte-NO Whip across the counter!  Adds a little something to the experience , don’t ya think? Ok,  so I am adding a little humor to make my point. We live in such a rude, rushed society at the moment. Often times the Barista behind the  counter can’t muster enough energy to grunt at a customer to ask, “what’s your name for the order?” You get where I am going … right? If  a coffee-house isn’t your thing, how about this.  What about a “Namaste” from your medical receptionist, as you anxiously wait for a doctor’s appointment? What a calm greeting that would be …for once. What about a kind “Namaste” from the local sales person at the department store, as you wait to exchange your item? Ok, so it looked good in the dressing room mirror -then-not- now! Whatever … can I get a “Namaste!”

I get frustrated, irritated on certain days. On those few days, I want to wear a  BIG sandwiched board saying, “NAMASTE That!”

My point, I would love to see human beings embrace the word “Namaste” more often. I believe the word can help you live a healthier and happy life. NAMASTE THAT!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Polly on October 26, 2011 at 12:46 PM

    This is a lovely thought Kellie
    luv Mom

    Reply

  2. Back at ya mom!

    Reply

  3. Namaste! Great post. I completely hear you with the coffee shop barista, I am so busy I can’t even raise my eyes to you whilst you place your order and give me your money! I get so frustrated sometimes. I have worked mostly with people in my working life, and I loved the connections. I love the opportunity to try to brighten someone’s day with a sincere smile and hello! It’s so rare to find sincerity out in our busy world these days. A Namaste would sure be nice once in a while. So here’s one from me at the least! 🙂

    Reply

    • I appreciate and accept! Namaste is one of those words every single time I hear someone say it …it brings a smile to me and peaceful comes over me. It calms my body and mind … a useful word. I hope to others perhaps now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

