Some Bunny Loves You


Some Bunny Loves You: By Kellie Kennedy-One Baby Boomers View On Life.

With Easter just around the corner, my mind reverts back to my childhood. Every Easter my father would buy me huge chocolate Easter bunny. I looked forward to this special treat this time of year. Of course, the first thing I did was BITE THE EARS OFF … poor little guy. Doesn’t everyone? It is kinda like eating the infamous Oreo Cookie; everyone knows the proper way to eat this cookie. First, slowly twist apart the two round cookies. Next scrape off with your teeth the yummy cream filled center. It’s JUST WHAT YA DO!

Little did we know, we  might actually be doing something beneficial for our bodies. Recent studies have shown eating chocolate in moderation, can have a health benefit. Notice …I used the word “moderation.” In addition, the chocolate should be dark chocolate, not milk chocolate or white chocolate. Note to self-not followed by a milk chaser! How can such a yummy treat be good for you?

Cocoa phenols are in dark chocolate and have been known to lower blood pressure and have cardiovascular benefits. Cocoa phenols are rich in cell-protecting antioxidants. The natural compounds found in fruits, veggies, grains and nuts. There is more and more research being done on dark chocolate and it’s health benefits in the areas of cancer-fighting abilities and improved cognitive function. H’m, improved cognitive function …now where did I stash that chocolate bunny?

Just like anything recommended, each person should check with their medical doctor before taking that first bite off the bunny ears. My Easter experienced changed forever one April day as a young adult. I came home from work, anxious to see my chocolate bunny. WHAT … NO BUNNY! I was in shock, how could this be? I immediately called my father and said “hey, where is my bunny?”  I was rudely advised that I was now too old to receive the little bundle of chocolate. I never heard of this rule! Too old to continue my Easter tradition with my father, NOW THIS NONSENSE! Every Easter since receiving the tragic news, I give my father a hard time when walking together down the candy aisles in the month of April. Hoping he feels just a tad bad.  He just shakes his head and laughs.

 H’m … maybe I should use the excuse by going back to our Easter tradition he would be providing a “health benefit’ to me. Well, guess I will keep on enjoying my little bite of chocolate heaven; hoping to add some health benefits to this aging body. Even if I MUST buy the little fellow myself. Words to live by next time someone tells you NOT to enjoy a little chocolate -BITE ME!

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by patrick pheasant on April 6, 2012 at 11:46 AM

    truly awesome a rated 10

    Reply

  2. Thank you Patrick. Now you can enjoy your chocolate binges..in moderation! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Kellie, does it HAVE to be in moderation?? I love me some dark chocolate.

    You know how us left-handed, Diet Dr. Pepper drinkers are!

    Reply

  4. […] Some Bunny Loves You (kelliekennedy.com) 0.000000 0.000000 Share this:TwitterFacebookStumbleUponEmailDiggPrintLinkedInRedditYou TubeTumblrPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed under baking away, Easter, family, get crafty, kiddos, spring and tagged Chocolate, Coconut, Cupcake, Easter, Karie, Oreo, pinterest, Types of chocolate | Leave a comment […]

    Reply

  5. ah moderation a nasty word huh? Thanks for popping in to read my post

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kimberly Young on April 8, 2012 at 10:27 PM

    Enjoyed your walk down memory lane, and the chocolate update 🙂

    Reply

  7. Brilliant justification for biting off bunny ears! 😉

    Reply

  8. Cocoa phenols are NOT the reason I love dark chocolate, but I’m grateful for any healthy excuse. Thanks for a good read (and I love the tee-shirt slogan)!

    Reply

  9. I know I’m behind on my mail, but this cute! T-shirt was perfect!

    Reply

  10. Thanks for popping by the blog. Yes PERFECT t-shirt and saying for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

