Olympic Games, Symbol Of Peace


Olympic Games, Symbol Of Peace

This phrase, “Citius, Altius, Fortius” is the Olympic Motto.

Meaning: Faster, Higher, Stronger.

Around the world eyes are glued to television sets. Everyone cheering on their specific country and athletes who represent their homeland. I am no different; I watch the Olympic Games every 4 years in awe. The games represent many things to people all around the world. For me, the games represent the ability to live together and co-exist in peace; even if for a brief 2 week period.

Growing up the Olympic Games- especially the summer games- were a time I anticipated very much. My parents would gather the entire family around our BIG consul TV (no remote control) to watch and cheer on our United States Olympic Team. My mom preparing separate bowls of popcorn or ice-cold mugs of root beer ice cream floats for all of us. My mom would strategically place all of us kids on the floor in front of the TV(no sibling touching another) to avoid the ever so annoying game “he/she is touching me.” So excited to watch our United States Olympic Team walk out around the olympic stadium waving the flag.

I was a swimmer in high school and college, and a member of the AAU (Amateur Athletic Union). I used to have the fantasy goal of perhaps trying to become an Olympic Athlete in swimming. Until I realized just how much dedication it takes to compete at such a high level. Not that I was a lazy athlete about the sport I loved. I think I realized fairly young my personality is not one of extreme competitiveness. I actually prefer “team” sports and settings. In fact, prefer working as a cohesive team in my career today. I still swim almost everyday. I still get the same thrill; feeling the cold clear water on my body. My dad calls me the “mermaid.” I tend to believe unless you were an avid swimmer, that same feeling of exuberance is not shared by all.

Watching the 2012 London Games I still tear up when I see one of our athletes on the podium and the United States National Anthem starts to play. These days I am no longer sitting on my floor with my legs crossed with a bowl of popcorn or cold root beer float. yelling to my mom “he/she touched me.” Have replaced it with a nice glass of Pinot Grigio, a spoiled dog and a cat with a TUDE.

These 2012 games give me hope that perhaps we can solve our differences in the world in a peaceful way. Perhaps we should leave it up to all the athletes to solve the global issues instead of the politicians. It seems that perhaps they could just do it too!

So far, the 2012 Olympic Games have had a profound meaning to my family. It is an honor to be related (via my Grandfather Kennedy) to Gold Medal Olympian in skeet shooting, Kim Rhode. We congratulate her and are so very proud of her huge accomplishment.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Real nice article. It put a smile on my face

    Reply

    • Thank you so kindly. Glad it made you feel good. memories of this time are great for me. Glad you dropped in to read. One Baby Boomers View On Life.

      Reply

    • Posted by Wanda Graves on August 5, 2012 at 6:53 PM

      Great picture kellie! what a bathing beauty!! and she can swim and dive too!Good Girl!!

      Reply

      • Well Wanda and Ray … not sure about bathing beauty. But I could swim. What I wouldn’t give for that slim trim swimmers body again. Well a girl can dream … right? Thanks for stopping by the blog.

  2. Posted by patrick on July 30, 2012 at 12:49 PM

    I did not know you were a super swimmer go girl very good, p

    Reply

  3. I am not an athlete in any way, but I love the stories and appreciate the sacrifices that families make in support of their athlete sons and daughters, sisters and brothers. I root primarily for the American athletes, of course, but give me a good story behind one of the other competitors and I’m rooting them onward! I enjoyed hearing more about your swimming and diving and I can imagine that you have really enjoyed the events thus far…and your couch buddies are adorable! 🙂 Kim Rhode is a real winner! It must be fun to have a family connection and be close to her personal story! Debra

    Reply

    • Thank you so much for stopping by to read my post. Yes in deed the other athletes stories are so wonderful to see and hear. Last night my eyes were filled with tears watching the excited UK men’s gymnastics team get a bronze (first thinking it was a silver). The UK team was so thrilled just being on the podium. Yes swimming was and still is a huge part of my life. It has also been a big reason for my body recovering from major health issues. Thank you again for popping in to read. One Baby Boomers View On Life.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Beach Stud on July 31, 2012 at 6:41 PM

    Very nice Article!

    Reply

    • Thanks so much Cam,
      Gives me hope that we can possibly live in a peaceful world … If not only for a brief 2 weeks at the Olympic Games. Thanks for popping in and reading post.

      Reply

  5. There is so much to enjoy about the Olympics. I like sports. Sure I will pull for American athletes, but also also enjoy watching winning performances by athletes from any nation. Congrats again to your family!!!

    Reply

    • Oh yes, pulling for another country is part of true Olympic spirit. I could hardly contain myself in Montreal when Nadia kept getting her prefect 10’s. Thrilling for the Romania and all. Thanks again we are proud to be related.

      Reply

  6. With root beer in chilled mugs or glasses of Pinot Grigio, let’s make a toast to Kim and all Olympic athletes, and the memories we have of watching all the games. Thanks for a great post, Kellie.

    Reply

  7. Well maryln
    How about we create a new ice cream float called ” rootgrgio” h’m does not sound as inviting as perhaps it did in my head. But yes … cheers to Kim.

    Reply

  8. NIce post! I just wanted you to know that I nominated you for One Lovely Blog Award. Thanks for having a great blog! Have a wonderful weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

